The Smell of Other People's Houses

Bonnie Sue Hitchcock

No. of pages 240

Reviews
Great for age 12+
In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isnt like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of Americas Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent. Ruth has a secret that she cant hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life shes always known on her familys fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide its safer to run away than to stay homeuntil one of them ends up in terrible danger.Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each otherand how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

 

Other books you may like