The Wind in the Willows

usborne young reading

Mauro Evangelista, Kenneth Grahame, Lesley Sims

No. of pages 64

Great for age
Far from fading with time, Kenneth Grahame's classic tale of fantasy has attracted a growing audience in each generation. Rat, Mole, Badger and the preposterous Mr Toad (with his 'Poop-poop-poop' road-hogging new motor car), have brought delight to many through the years with their odd adventures on and by the river, and at the imposing residence of Toad Hall. The Young Reading series is developed with reading expert Alison Kelly from Roehampton University to help young readers grow in confidence and ability.


The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame, Kenneth Graham, Lesley Sims and Mauro Evangelista has not been rated for age or fabulousness yet on TheBookseekers. There are currently no reviews for this book on this site. Click on the + buttons to include your own ratings!

It is part of the Classic Stories collection, and is at grey, lime and Level 2 in the Usborne Young Reading levelled reading scheme. This book is aimed at children who are working at levels 3a, 3b and 3c of the National Curriculum.

The Wind in the Willows is an illustrated book and features the illustrations of Mauro Evangelista. It has been adapted for children. The book includes the fictional characters Toad of Toad Hall, Mole, Mr Toad, Ratty, Mr Badger and Otter. The subject areas covered by this book include Animals. The locations of England and Thames Valley are linked with this book. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame, Kenneth Graham, Lesley Sims and Mauro Evangelista was inspired by the story The Wind in the Willows.

Genres: Nature, classics, classic and adventure stories

Tags: Animal, Animals, Country, Country life, fictional character, Friends, Friendship, Life, River, River life and Toads

This is a Reader collection. A Reader collection group books together at the same level within the same Reading scheme.

Collection Tags: Illustrated, Usborne Young Reading, non-ordered, 3a, classics, reading, grey.

Young Reading from Usborne. Series One titles are for children who have just started reading on their own. They are 48 pages long and typically contain several short stories or one longer story divided into chapters. They use fairly short, simple sentences and everyday vocabulary. Series Two titles are for children who are reading more confidently. They are 64 pages long and use varied sentence lengths, more complex sentence structure and more challenging vocabulary. Series Three titles are for fully confident readers who still need to gain the stamina needed for standard length books. They use advanced sentence structure and vocabulary and have more complex plots with subplots.

This book contains the following story:

The Wind in the Willows

This book features the following character:

Toad of Toad Hall

No reviews yet

Be the first!

Other books you may like

Other collections by Mauro Evangelista, Kenneth Grahame, Lesley Sims