A Bear Called Paddington

Book 1, Paddington


Michael Bond, Peggy Fortnum

1 review
Great for age 6+

The original text of the adventures of Paddington Bear, illustrated by Peggy Fortnum. This book contains the stories: 1 Please look after this bear, 2 A bear in hot water, 3 Paddington goes underground, 4. A shopping expedition, 5 Paddington and the Old Master, 6. A Visit to the theatre, 7. Adventure at the Seaside, 8. A Disappearing Trick


A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond and Peggy Fortnum currently has an age rating of 6+ years and a 5 star rating on TheBookSeekers. There are currently no reviews for this book on this site. Click on the + buttons to include your own ratings!


A Bear Called Paddington is book 1 in the series Paddington. A Bear Called Paddington is an illustrated book and features the illustrations of Peggy Fortnum. It was written for young readers to enjoy. The book includes the characters Paddington Bear, Paddington, Mr Gruber, Mrs Bird and Mr Curry.

Genres: family and humour

Tags: bear

This book features the following character:

Paddington Bear

Paddington Bear is from Darkest Peru where he was raised by his Aunt Lucy. He now lives in Windsor Gardens, London with the Brown Family where he manages to get into lots of scrapes.


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Date: 24/Nov/2014

I love the Paddington books, but particularly these original chapter books by Michael Bond, which are so well written. Bond is excellent at signposting throughout the stories and they are so funny you end up laughing out loud. The chapters are all individual stories but these are longer than the picture book versions so I would say children of age 6+ could listen to the stories, but probably 7+ to read it to themselves.


Other books you may like

Other versions of this story