Collected Stories for Children - 17 Short Stories

Walter De La Mare

No. of pages 334

Great for age
Collected Stories for Children was first published in 1947 and is a collection of the best seventeen short stories written by Walter de la Mare. The stories cover a range of subjects, but are all dreamy and poetic, captivating both adults and children. The book was awarded the Carnegie Medal in 1947, the first time a collection of stories had won this award. It was unexpected, as none of the stories were new, spanning the previous two decades, but the award acknowledged him in this way: the achievement of the most gifted writer of the century who had dedicated his finest powers to delighting children.The stories contained in the collection are Dick and the Beanstalk The Dutch Cheese A Penny a Day The Scarecrow The Three Sleeping Boys of Warwickshire The Lovely Myfanwy Lucy Miss Jemima The Magic Jacket The Lord Fish Mr. Bumps and his Monkey (also known as The Old Lion) Broomsticks Alice's Godmother The Maria-Fly Visitors Sambo and the Snow Mountains The Riddle


Collected Stories for Children - 17 Short Stories by Walter de la Mare won the Carnegie Award in 1947. It currently has a 5 star rating on TheBookSeekers. There are currently no reviews for this book on this site. Click on the + buttons to include your own ratings!

Collected Stories for Children - 17 Short Stories was written by Walter de la Mare. It was written for young readers to enjoy.

Other books you may like