The Lion and the Mouse: Band 02b/Red B | TheBookSeekers

The Lion and the Mouse: Band 02b/Red B

Collins Big Cat

Key stage: Key Stage 1, Foundation Stage
National Curriculum: Stepping Stones, Early Years

, ,

No. of pages 16

Great for age 3-11 years

A tiny mouse accidentally disturbs a sleeping lion and fears he will be eaten - but the lion lets him go. When the lion later finds himself in trouble, though, the mouse sees his chance to return the good deed. This traditional tale by Anthony Robinson is brought to life by the contemporary artwork of Ciaran Duffy.

This is a Band 02B/Red B book in the Collins Big Cat reading programme which offers simple but varied text with familiar objects and actions, combined with a simple story development and a satisfying conclusion. This is a traditional tale, and children can recap key events from the story using the story map on pages 14 and 15. This book supports learning around citizenship and the choices we can make as good citizens. This book has been quizzed for Accelerated Reader. For more guided reading books in this Collins Big Cat band, try Our World (9780007512775) by Monica Hughes.


This book is part of a book series called Collins Big Cat .

This book is at the following key stages: Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1 . A key stage is any of the fixed stages into which the national curriculum is divided, each having its own prescribed course of study. At the end of each stage, pupils are required to complete standard assessment tasks. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) covers children from birth to age 5 years. KS1 covers school years 1 and 2, and ages 5-7 years. This book is at national curriculum levels Early Years, Stepping Stones . The National Curriculum sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at all 4 key stages. Early years refers to the standards that school and childcare providers must meet for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5. Stepping Stones relates to development in Reception. Each National Curriculum level is divided into sub-levels, where Level C means that a child is working at the lower end of the level, Level B they is working comfortably at that level, and Level A means that they is working at the top end of the level. The Government has suggested a child should achieve the following levels by the end of each school year: (i) Level 1b by end Year 1, Level 2a-c by end Year 2, Level 2a-3b by end Year 3, Level 3 by the end Year 4, Level 3b-4c by the end Year 5, Level 4 by the end Year 6.

This book has been graded for interest at 3-6 years. This book is part of a reading scheme, meaning that it is a book aimed at children who are learning to read. This reading scheme has multiple levels.

There are 16 pages in this book. This book was published 2011 by HarperCollins Publishers .

ANTHONY ROBINSON writes children's books and teaches. He has lived and travelled all over the world, from his original home in Australia to Asia, Southeast Asia and Europe, from Japan to Edinburgh, and now lives in Cambridge. He is keen to give a voice to the voiceless, be they refugees who have fled their own countries, children living normal lives in vastly different cultures, or children living in difficult circumstances. Collins UK has been publishing educational and informative books for almost 200 years.

This book contains the following story:

The Lion and the Mouse
Some field mice were running hither and thither, playing their own game. They were so taken with their game that they did not notice the sleeping lion. In the course of the chase one mouse accidentally ran over the lion's paw, waking him from his slumber. The lion was cross and caught the little mouse by the tail. 'Please don't kill me' squealed the mouse 'I am so sorry'. The lion had intended to crush the little beast, but he tempered his mood and let the creature go. A few days later the lion was out hunting when he fell into a poacher's trap. Ropes wound around him and the terrified lion knew he could do nothing but wait for the hunter and his doom. But then he heard a little squeaking, and as he looked up he saw the mouse he had let go gnawing at the ropes. 'You were kind to me' said the mouse 'and now I will be kind to you'. The mouse gnawed through the ropes and the lion was able to escape.

This book is in the following series:

Collins Big Cat
The Collins Big Cat series is a fully structured reading scheme with both fiction and non fiction titles. The series was designed to build speaking and listening as well as reading skills. Every book contains a unique reader response activity plus reading tips including suggested comprehension activities and curriculum links.

No reviews yet